The State of JavaScript Frameworks 2019 — A researched list of the top 5 appearing…

Adron Hall
2 min readDec 27, 2018

--

Quick SITREP

(If you just want the meat of the tech, skip to the “Framework Cookoff” or “Summary and Victor” section.)

I’m on vacation, so of course I’m writing and reviewing frameworks to write some code!

An Aside: Hey, if you’re on vacation and not writing code, more power to you. Gotta keep work and one’s personal life separated in as healthy a way as possible! My life however involves a lot of hobbies, that I could do professionally, and one of those hobbies I do indeed do professionally: write code, design, and understand domains to build and implement solutions for people and organizations of people!

A few days ago I decided I’d create a few reference applications for development against distributed databases systems, using Apache Cassandra and whatever else. That left one of the first priorities to figure out what UI framework to use, or which to not use, or to use any at all. The application I intend to build out is a simple todo list, so nothing extravagant.

I sat down at Ballard Coffee Works today (that’s part of Seattle Coffee Works, they’re pretty rad) to get started on this. The first thing I needed to do however was figure out what the hell is going on with the state of the user interface realm of the JavaScript universe. What are my options? Are we all still just going on about React? Is Angulardead yet? What’s this Vue.js dealio? Does everybody use Bootstrap underneath all of this or has something else taken over?

Framework Cookoff!

Fire up the cooker, time to rip these frameworks apart and see which one is going to be the choice option for this task!

…read more…

--

--

Adron Hall

Software dev, data, heavy metal, transit, economics, freethought, atheism, cycling, livability, beautiful things & adrenaline junkie.